The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps

The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps

The story of an infamous crime, a revered map dealer with an unsavory secret, and the ruthless subculture that consumed him Maps have long exerted a special fascination on viewers—both as beautiful works of art and as practical tools to navigate the world. But to those who collect them, the map trade can be a cutthroat business, inhabited by quirky and sometimes disreputable characters in search of a finite number of extremely rare objects. Once considered a respectable antiquarian map dealer, E. Forbes Smiley spent years doubling as a map thief —until he was finally arrested slipping maps out of books in the Yale University library. The Map Thief delves into the untold history of this fascinating high-stakes criminal and the inside story of the industry that consumed him. Acclaimed reporter Michael Blanding has interviewed all the key players in this stranger-than-fiction story, and shares the fascinating histories of maps that charted the New World, and how they went from being practical instruments to quirky heirlooms to highly coveted objects. Though pieces of the map theft story have been written before, Blanding is the first reporter to explore the story in full—and had the rare privilege of having access to Smiley himself after he’d gone silent in the wake of ...

  • ASIN: 1592409407

The Map Thief: A Novel

The Map Thief: A Novel

Republican kingmaker Richard Tobias has hired attorney Mara Coyne, he says, because of her skill in recovering stolen art, but Mara senses that he is not telling her everything. Tobias reveals that a centuries-old map was stolen from an archaeological dig he is sponsoring in China, and he wants her to get it back. But as Mara begins her investigation, she uncovers the shocking truth: The map is more valuable than anyone has even imagined, and her client’s motives are more sinister than she suspected.From Hong Kong to the Italian countryside, from Lisbon to the remote reaches of Communist China, and literally around the world on the ships of fifteenth-century explorers, Heather Terrell takes readers on an adventure of epic proportions.

  • ASIN: 0345494695

The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps 1st Edition by Blanding, Michael (2014) Hardcover

The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps 1st Edition by Blanding, Michael (2014) Hardcover

  • ASIN: B011DAUIZ2

The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps by Blanding, Michael (2014) Hardcover

The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps by Blanding, Michael (2014) Hardcover

  • ASIN: B00OHXI5D0

Map of Thieves

Map of Thieves

After discovering a lost Civil War hat from a famous Union general who was shot in the back during the Battle of Atlanta, Freemason military historian Lieutenant Colonel Jake Tununda is shocked to learn a secret waybill may be hidden inside the hat's liner. Before he can inspect it, the hat and two priceless Nazi artifacts disappear from the West Point Museum in a brazen daytime theft. Jake and his stunning girlfriend, private investigator Rae Hart, head to Savannah to question their main suspect, an aging World War II vet. They soon find themselves targeted for assassination. Even worse, Jake is suspended from the case and the Army itself. In Map of Thieves, a mystery thriller set in the deep South, Jake and Rae team up with Delta Force operative Alex Vann to catch a killer thief and to locate the legendary Cherokee Tunnel-a gold vault in the Georgia mountains that dates back to 1838 and the Trail of Tears. Enter U.S. Congressman Tom Black of Atlanta, one of the dirtiest, most corrupt politicians ever to steal an election. He's also the great grandson of the sniper whose shot killed the Union general. Once privy to what's inside the secret Indian tunnel-Hernando de Soto's stolen Spanish mining map-Black will let nothing stand in his way to steal it for himself. Including killing...

  • Brand: Michael J Karpovage
  • ASIN: 0985653213

Pathfinder Chronicles: Council of Thieves Map Folio

Pathfinder Chronicles: Council of Thieves Map Folio

Every corner of the treacherous city of Westcrown lies bare in this handsome collection of important locales and maps from the Council of Thieves Pathfinder Adventure Path! Two huge poster maps present the city in beautiful detail, while fifteen additional single-page, full-color maps cover key encounter locations or wilderness areas from the campaign, adding visual flair for players and making the Game Master's life a lot easier. “Price Includes VAT”

  • Brand: Blando Jared Lazzaretti Rob
  • ASIN: 1601252188

Thick as Thieves (Queen's Thief)

Thick as Thieves (Queen's Thief)

Discover the world of the Queen’s ThiefThick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queen’s Thief, this epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the And...

  • Brand: GREENWILLOW
  • ASIN: 0062568248

Below

Everyone knows the late wizard Visak left his fortune hidden in the vast underground ruins of the Elder Kingdom, safer than any bank. Brenish, a mediocre highwayman but a brilliant liar, always dreamed of finding riches in the deeps himself. Since his fascination has earned him a reputation as a lore master, he’s the perfect man to sell a forger’s masterpiece: the wizard’s lost treasure map.His boss Gareth St. James is dangerous to disappoint, and equally obsessed with the ruins. His fury after a botched robbery is abated only by his untimely discovery of the map, forcing Brenish into a desperate bluff that it might be real. But the forger did his job too well, stoking Gareth’s desire and leaving Brenish and the other thieves no choice but to join his quest.Gareth’s expedition includes his best henchmen, and an extra hostage for insurance against Brenish. In the dark realm of monster-infested tunnels and abandoned cities below, both men need each other’s wits to keep the company alive. But Brenish knows the search for the wizard’s hoard is doomed—and if he can’t divert Gareth before the truth comes out, so is everyone he cares about.About 118,000 words.

  • ASIN: B0722ZVZ2K

Disappearing Ink: The Insider, the FBI, and the Looting of the Kenyon College Library

Disappearing Ink: The Insider, the FBI, and the Looting of the Kenyon College Library

Like many aspiring writers, David Breithaupt had money problems. But what he also had was unsupervised access to one of the finest special collections libraries in the country. In October 1990 Kenyon College hired David Breithaupt as its library’s part-time evening supervisor. In April 2000 he was fired after a Georgia librarian discovered him selling a letter by Flannery O’Connor on eBay, but that was only the tip of the iceberg: for the past ten years, Breithaupt had been browsing the collection, taking from it whatever rare books, manuscripts, and documents caught his eye―Flannery O'Connor letters, W.H. Auden annotated typescripts, a Thomas Pynchon manuscript, and much, much more. It was a large-scale, long-term pillaging of Kenyon College’s most precious works.After he was caught, the American justice system looked like it was about to disappoint the college the way it had countless rare book crime victims before―but Kenyon refused to let this happen.

  • Brand: McDade Travis
  • ASIN: 1682301486

The Island of Lost Maps: A True Story of Cartographic Crime

The Island of Lost Maps: A True Story of Cartographic Crime

New Hardcover with dust jacket.

  • ASIN: 0375501517
Similar The Map Thief Results
The Map Thief Video Results

The Map Thief

The Map Thief

The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps Maps have long exerted a special fascination on viewers—both as beautiful works of art and as practical tools to navigate the world. But to those who collect them, the map trade can be a cu...

  • Likes: 15
  • View count: 2067
  • Dislikes: 4
  • Comments:
Tags: US National Archives,NARA

Michael Blanding: The Map Thief

The Map Thief

Investigative journalist Michael Blanding tells the story of E. Forbes Smiley, a respectable antiquarian map dealer who spent years doubling as a map thief — until he was finally arrested while slipping maps out of books in the Yale University Library. To write a full-length work about Smiley, Bl...

  • Likes: 1
  • View count: 273
  • Dislikes: 0
  • Comments: 0
Tags: Boston,WGBH,Cartography (Field Of Study),historic maps,mapping,map,Michael Blanding,Boston Litera...

GRIEFING A MAP THIEF (Minecraft Trolling)

The Map Thief

On today's Minecraft Trolling video I came across a kid that is trying to take credit for some one elses Minecraft world. He transferred it to a xbox 360, recovered it to his xbox one. Through out the video you will notice many inconsistency's in his story to try to make me believe that he buil...

  • Likes: 14390
  • View count: 1358954
  • Dislikes: 502
  • Comments: 5049
Tags: unstoppableluck,Minecraft Trolling,Minecraft Griefing,Trolling in Minecraft,Trolling,minecraft,un...

The Map Thief: The Story of A Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps

The Map Thief

January 02, 2015 C-SPAN http://MOXNews.com Author Michael Blanding talked about his book, The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps, in which he examines the life of rare-map dealer E. Forbes Smiley III, who in 2006 admitted to st...

  • Likes: 7
  • View count: 1089
  • Dislikes: 0
  • Comments: 0
Tags: Forbes Smiley,map,maps,dealer,rare,thief,stole,stolen,history,news